numinousmagazine

James Lineberger

In Issue 3 on May 1, 2009 at 11:50 am

everything i start out to say

everything i start out to say
has come to be
self-serving even
these so-called
prayers
these earnest claims to innocence
this goddamn
snivelling beneath my bridehood’s
veil
but oh god my god

my only

please just try to believe
me and accept me
the way i keep on telling
everyone
i believe in you

  1. everyone who knows you believes

  2. Well… as much as I feel that one should not be critical of another’s poetic expressions,
    I must say that I find this one rather appalling.

    His term, “so called prayers” is right on because one in true prayer to his God would not use His name in vain in prayer. There’s much in this poem that I personally find troubling, but I realize other’s may relate, and like it.

Leave a comment